As you may know, I tried (and eventually succeed) at house-buying  in 2014. I had two failed attempts! Both in Arden, Delaware…. The ‘Hippie House(s)’ got condemned while I was under contract for the purchase. They let me out.

IMG_3465

Homemade hippie house in Arden. That’s why it got condemned

 

 

 

 

Then came the heartbreak of standing in line to rent the moving truck and finding out I had “lost” another house in Arden – Sunset Lane. No more about that!

323

Sunset Lane in Arden. Product of a bad real estate guy

 

 

 

 

Then came weeks of living in an already officially vacated rental house, with a brand new (not supposed-to-have-one) kitten, and no furniture. Everything had been moved, you see.

I signed a contract for a third house in late June. And took possession on Halloween. Yes, you are right – that’s close to 4 months of a ‘virtual homelessness’ of living in temporary situations: Andrew at a colleague’s New Jersey beach house, both of us in the Pine St temporary apartment, me at my Algerian cab-driver-boyfriend  Karim’s south Philly apartment, and in hotels and motels around the city and country.

Because the owner changed his mind. He had a series of strokes. He was sick, his kids were taking advantage of him (perhaps they weren’t the only ones), his ex-wife sued him to force the sale. His bank foreclosed on the house. And I was stuck in the middle, waiting for a house which plenty of people were plenty skeptical about! And probably for some good reasons.

That house – and the reasons for folks to be skeptical, and my attempts to renovate, remodel and homestead on this property, are the subjects of this blog. In the end I got a 1.3 acre plot of land in a not so great part of the greater metro area. But one day I came to visit the house in early fall and found this scene.

676.jpg

Deer on the homestead, late summer

And then I decided it was all going to be ok.

Here’s to the adventure!

 

Leave a Reply

