Kensington approves of the new tile

Kensington approves of the new tile

My sister Robin’s husband (and father to my two of my 4 nieces) laid tile for a living.  (Sadly, we lost Jerry a few years ago). When I was a young teenager he used to take me out on site with him, where I got to cut tile and help with grouting and assorted odd jobs that someone would let a 13 year old girl do. Actually, who lets a 13 year old girl help with tile jobs?

So naturally 30 years later I still fancy myself as having tile-laying skills. In keeping with the inspiration wall (and after many hours looking at foyers in Houzz) we decided on slate tile. But slate is difficult to lay (because of the height differences in the tiles), so we went with this ceramic tile which looks like natural stone.  It’s Ivetta Black tile. Although let me say it’s most definitely not black. It’s a beautiful mix of dark grey, blue, and green with some hints of taupe and even a little peach or rose, depending on the light.

994

Ivetta black stone tile for the foyer

We installed backer-board for tile, bought a cheap wet saw, and went at it.

995

The boys really were more enthusiastic than this!

999

As you can see, I did most of the hard work 😉

997

Homage to my late brother-in-law Jerry!

996

It turned out lovely, and tiling was just as straightforward as I remembered.

After grouting, it was just beautiful.

Finished tile, with pearl grout

Finished tile, with pearl grout

Next, on to the flooring….

Leave a Reply

