A Late Winter Intermission

It’s been a whole month since I’ve posted and I’ve missed being connected to this project…. Not the actual projects themselves (to which I am very much still connected), but the act of sitting here and recounting them. It’s because writing about a project/room meant it was done, and nothing has been completed in the month! Several projects are now in motion simultaneously including the back bedroom, the made-from-scratch desk, the ghetto-greenhouse, a week long installation of central air and heat, and now actual outside gardening.

I wont complain about the bitter cold we experienced because I know you all felt it. It snowed and snowed!

IMG_5573

The road to the homestead

IMG_5574

An absence of color

One day on the road to work I saw this truck with an entire load of soil and was momentarily heartened.

Carrying Spring

Carrying Spring

But then it snowed some more.IMG_5523

 

Winter was so long, Andrew’s birthday Amaryllis bloomed, died and then bloomed again!

IMG_5606

March 2015

IMG_5408

January 2015

 

 

 

 

 

And the cats, after having (seemingly) resolved their ongoing territorial feud, really just wanted to go outside….

IMG_5417

As for me, I guess after 3 months of non-stop homesteading a little break was called for. In fact, since moving into the Homestead about November 1, it’s been non-stop travel and work.  I just didn’t realize how completely exhausted I was perhaps. And now I remember that for some reason this time of year is always trying at work.

But, Spring! I asked for a 3 week leave of absence from work starting about May 1, and we are all gearing up for a big spring push! Visits from Pam & Tom, Connie, Gallaghers? possibly Miss Mara? Jeremy you better your butt out here! (Jannie, you know the invite stands for you, too). Gardening and a big late-spring hippie camp-out/music fest? Oh, yeah.

So let’s continue……..

Leave a Reply

