I guess it’s about time to update you, dear friends.. I see that some of you have been faithfully stopping by in spite of the lack of new content on the blog. Thanks!

There has been a whirlwind of activity and progress, despite the lack of proof 😉 It’s because we’ve all been so busy that I have not gotten back here in these many months….

Then I faced the task of figuring out how to present the newest work. By month? By project? My guest host/decorator/family member/friend accomplices?

I’ve decided on a great, big, expulsion of info, not organized at all and neccesarily only hitting the high points (I laugh when I look back and see the detail I was obsessed with in the beginning!).


Part 1: The Garden

We built a pretty rockin’ garden with a custom fence installed by Karim, Andrew and I including sinking all the posts, fabricating all the raised beds, building all structures, etc. Karim built a lovely gate for it which we have yet to attach successfully but does look beautiful anyway….

IMG_0844

Here is the location of the garden ‘before’… Me digging some lettuce beds as early as March

 

  1.  

     

    IMG_0667

    Here it was just before we broke ground in April

  2.  

    IMG_0701

    Here we are posts ready to go!

  3. Sinking and reinforcing postsSinking and reinforcing posts
IMG_0659

Andrew actually dropped a 4 x 4 on my head. No joking.

IMG_0700

About mid way through construction….

IMG_0693

Center posts – almost done!

IMG_0684

Stained what we could before everything got out of control… (The plants I mean!)

IMG_0683

The gate pre-stain

IMG_0731

The (mostly) finished product

IMG_0775

A nice view from across the driveway….


Part 2: The bounty! (Where I turn into my mother and show everyone pictures of my flowers).

IMG_1277

Karim and I turned a section of lawn into a yin-yang early in the summer…..

IMG_1362

And turned it into a lovely spot!

IMG_1364

With one-half white nicotiana and one-half colorful zinnias….

IMG_0739 IMG_0745 IMG_1273 IMG_1274 IMG_1305  IMG_1309 IMG_1311 IMG_1315 IMG_1322 IMG_1344 IMG_1366 IMG_1370 IMG_1458 IMG_1481IMG_0778 IMG_0779Last but not least (should have gone first perhaps but I’m too lazy to move the pics around!) I know some of you will appreciate how excited I am to be growing Sandia hot New Mexico chili peppers in my garden….

IMG_1576

And moonflowers on my porch.

IMG_1374

 

Leave a Reply

